Looking up

1

February 19, 2017 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

I’ve written before about struggling with my mental health and happiness. And now I’ve not written in a very long time. See where I’m going with this?

 

I’ve been really struggling for the last eight or nine months – for varying reasons, including health, work and body acceptance. (Turns out a long time comfort eating will push your weight up to the point where clothes don’t fit so well. Who knew?) That’s all sucked.

 

I’ve been having as much fun as usual at LARP, am lucky enough to have a healthy and loving relationship with someone lovely, and my friends are amazing. But I’ve been struggling to keep everything balanced. I’m not going to go into too much detail on this, because I don’t want this blog to be huge walls of wailing about how miserable I am and how terrible everything is. There’s plenty worse off than me, and things are looking up again. Longer days, an injury I picked up is easing, work is more engaging again, and now I just need to get back on my various horses.

Exercise more.

Eat less.

Take pictures of beautiful things I’ve made, and talk about why I make them.

Love myself a little more, and be kinder when I’m not perfect.

 

I decided to try out the Bullet Journal system this year in lieu of a 2017 paper diary, and am finding it far more helpful than I thought it would be. The flexibility given by being able to just set up specific pages for lists and planning is immense, so of course I’m using it to plan my sewing and wardrobe. I’ve also revisited the Wardrobe Architect project that Colette Patterns created, and have a page in there for planning and tracking my goals. With that, and embracing a more minimalistic approach to my life, stuff and making, I think I’m back onto a more positive, meaningful groove. Let’s see how it goes.

One thought on “Looking up

  1. Mira says:

    Thank you for sharing. Depression is a narsty beastie, and difficult to down, even with a full raid party. Sometimes it’s a matter of pushing through and trying to do what you can in self-care when you’re in the bottom part of the slump. *HUGS*

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

