The Gathering storm…

Leave a comment

August 16, 2016 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

…if you’re a LARPer and play Lorien Trust, you’re probably facepalming right now. That was terrible, and I am not sorry. It’s just over a week to the biggest LARP event I attend each year, and I think I have fabric paint in my ear today.

I’m still making banners. Specifically, a big one. When the command team asked for something approximately four foot by six foot, I did my usual thing and said “Sure! No problem!” and then realised that I’d agreed to make something about the size of a door. That several thousand people will see and walk by. In a new development for me, this didn’t cause several months of impostor syndrome and dallying. Just a day or two. I hired an amazing illustrator to come up with an image, and I am currently painting it onto the biggest single piece of fabric I have ever worked with. It’s about halfway there. It’s starting to look good. No, I won’t show you yet. I’m hoping to ask the chap who takes event photos to take some nice pictures of what is actually the bulk of my creative work this year, so that I can show you properly.

What I will show you is what I plan to do next.

BRAS. I’ve been promising myself all year that I’ll learn to make bras. I bought two bra kits from Tailor Made Shoppe on Etsy, because she’s had some fabulous feedback from the likes of Lladybird and frankly I don’t trust myself to pick appropriate fabrics for my first inning.

As for patterns? When I looked at the Big Four in my local fabric shop, they didn’t have any bra patterns. A vintage two piece that might have support? Sure. Would I wear it? Probably. Was it a bra? Fuck no. Seamwork’s Florence looks promising, as does the Marlborough and the Boylston from Orange Lingerie. They’re all wildly popular too, which means lots of lovely tutorials and people who’ve tried, tested, experimented and (presumably) fucked up in ways I hope to learn from.

And today, Madalynne released two patterns in conjunction with Simplicity! I’m very excited by this – I’ve liked her stuff for ages. The soft bras and bralettes she designs look perfect for lazy days. I don’t consider myself to be properly dressed if I’m not wearing a bra, and I think having soft bras might be an acceptable compromise between easy comfort and the support I need to putter around the house.

Yes, I could just buy her premades. BUT as a massive honkin’ cheapskate in everything other than LARP and fabric, I can’t justify paying for shipping to order online, and I’m not sure if her designs for Out From Under made it into the Urban Outfitters here in Dublin. Besides, I don’t have time to try on in the UO beside my office, because if I’m there it’s lunchtime. There are few things more soul destroying than bra shopping, and bra shopping at lunch time sounds like the special hell. I hate bra shopping, and if I can make them then all I need to do is shop for fabric. There are two bras worth of fabric hopefully wending their way to me as we speak, and then for September?

 

I think it’s going to be Selfish Sewing September up in here.

 

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Sewing for Curves

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

