Roundup? Nah, I don’t need weedkiller!

Leave a comment

January 1, 2016 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

So, 2015 is now officially over, and while my housemates bewail their hangovers I thought I’d indulge my introspection. I haven’t been blogging regularly for long enough to do a proper retrospective of the year according to New Capel Street, but one of the achievements I am most pleased with from the years just gone is finally getting this blog going. I’ve had the account with WordPress for six or seven years at least and never seemed to find a direction until comparatively recently.

 

So yeah! That’s a thing! I’ve a few recent makes, and not-so-recent makes to blog about as I’m really excited about their results (and what’s left to do in some cases). And it’s exciting to me now to know more or less how to approach writing those things.

 

Regarding what I’ve made this year, numbers wise it’s way down on before. I really struggled with my mood and motivation for about half the year, and there was a long time where sewing or knitting felt like a chore. I’m so glad that doesn’t happen regularly. In the meantime, when the keen did strike. I tried to make sure that the results were of good quality and really obsessed over the finish. It’s embarrassingly recently that I’ve discovered seam finishes and the wonders thereof, but it has made such an improvement on my finished projects. My work wardrobe includes three skirts I have made, and will soon have an additional dress, and they get more wear than anything else. I just feel better when wearing things I made.

 

Fabric Mountain is still a thing – I’ve been buying odd bits of fabric, but actually using up things at the same time – one of the stacky boxes from upstairs has been completely emptied and devoted to another use, without being replaced by other storage. And the scrap has finally been sorted and now lives in Ziploc bags, sorted by colour.

Goals for the year ahead? Well, these are Not Resolutions, but things I’ve been thinking about for a long time anyway, and now’s a good time to mention them.

Casual Wear. I’ve become a huge fan of Seamwork Magazine since its release, and with their patterns being intended to work up in 3 hours or less they have some fantastic options for making casual or mixed-use clothing. I love the idea of having more control over the fabrics I use and the styles I wear, and having spent years and years wearing oversized old t-shirts as my casual wear I’d love to make stuff that’s pretty and fits better.

Underwear. Namely bras. One of my sewing-blogger-idols, Lladybird spent a lot of time making underwear last year and I’m totally inspired. It’s difficult to find bras I like that fit, so again, control of the process.

Knitting. My RSI has been worse than it has in years, so this might take a while to get back to. I’d like to make a nice cardigan, work appropriate, but not in stupidly thin yarn that’ll take years.

Costume. More costumes. Pretty costumes. Taking pictures of my costumes. Maybe selling stuff, but I’m still undecided on that.

Tutorials! LRP costume tutorials for the Academy of Eblana crowd.

More consistent making. It’s been evident time and again that it helps with my mood immensely, so if I keep it consistent, along with trying to keep on my eat-healthy kick and moving once in a while, that should help.

That’s about it really. It’ll probably take half the year to even get started, as usual. What are your goals for the year?

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

