Straw, camels, and decision fatigue.

2

September 24, 2015 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

For once, this post isn’t about that cool thing I just finished. I have finished a project recently which I’m very excited about and might even blog about at some point, but I don’t want to write about it just now.

It might be the change in seasons, the fact that I have a (mostly) dedicated game night on Wednesdays and date night Tuesdays, but I’m finding it really difficult to focus on projects lately. I have a nasty suspicion that it might be the dreaded Startitis. Every maker has surely gone through that one at least once. You know how it goes. You get a flash of a Brilliant Idea. It’s going to be great! Fucking amazing! Memorable! The best thing you have ever made! And so you start, full of bright eyed enthusiasm and vimto. And then it happens again. And again. And then you’re up to your bleedin’ eyes in tangled yarn, scraps of fabric, your sewing machine has mysteriously become sentient and decked you, and now on top of drowning in projects, you also have a concussion. And a possible retinal detachment, because clearly everyone in this nightmare world has eyes as crap as yours. Mine. Whatever.

Basically, I’m finding that making things, far from being fun, feels like a chore. Maybe it’s just getting properly started into something that I’m struggling with. And picking which project to work on next is stressing me out a little bit. I don’t know what to do with that. For feck’s sake, I’ve started a fiddly little bullshit patchwork blanket project and a scarf to procrastinate picking my jumper project for the winter. And don’t think it doesn’t apply to my sewing as well as the knitting. Sometimes having two areas of textile hobby isn’t necessarily a good thing.

I’m sure there’s a fix. I just don’t know what it is yet.

2 thoughts on “Straw, camels, and decision fatigue.

  1. Kathleen L. says:

    I know I tend to fall into “startitis” mode when I’m knitting. I find a yarn I LOVE, pick a pattern and as soon as I get started on that project, I find ANOTHER yarn I just love…and pick a pattern for that. And repeat. And repeat. Sometimes I’ll have 5+ projects on my needles because I just love the yarns, love the patterns when I pick them, and then get bored.

    • New Capel Street: Fabric Division says:

      It used to be a big problem for me when I was getting started (ahahah, see what I did there!) in making things, but often didn’t have the follow through or skill to complete the thing. It’s been so long since it was a regular part of my crafting life that it’s really thrown me!

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

