Scrap-happy!

3

August 16, 2015 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

A few years ago I decided to stop buying fabric, as much as possible, as to co-opt a friend’s description of her own stash, I had a veritable Fabric Mountain going on. I made exceptions, such as for the commissions I was doing at the time, and of course any time I really couldn’t resist something in the scrap bins in Hickeys and the Woollen Mills (I didn’t know about The Cloth Shop back then, and I was afraid to go in to Murphy Sheehys for fear of being turfed out). But the end result is that I have enough fabric to fill an entire bookcase, and I really did want to use up the crappy stuff so I could buy nice, pretty fabric.

I’ve mentioned before that the fey group I play in at LT is known for wearing mostly grey, and many of the members wear ‘raggies’ like these ones from Velvet Glove So I wanted to riff on that when making my character kit, but put more of a spin on the scrappy aesthetic. So when making bracers to use as armour, I cut them from a scrap of a waistcoat (more on that another day) and the tunic, and from an ill-fated pair of hero pants. I may write about those another day, once I have done something I don’t utterly despise with the fabric. But for now, bracers!

I found a Lord of the Rings cosplay site when searching for bracer patterns, which gave a very handy schematic for self-drafting bracer patterns. I used that, realised yet again that I have abnormally tiny hands and wrists, and came out with these babies:

Scrappy bracers are the best bracers
They’re several layers thick, lined with hidden pockets in case I ever want to put more leather in there for additional Armour Value (an LT term), and very comfortable.I sewed little metal rings to the inner for lacing them, and used a tarred cotton cord for the lacing.

Once those were finished, I was on a roll. A happy, scrappy roll. So I wanted to make a belt to close my waistcoat with. Obi style seemed like a good idea, as I could use it to hide whatever generic belt I put my weapon loops, pouches and random other crap on. And it could be used on any number of layers without looking too small. Pinterest provided a link to schematics for this one, and I ended up with this:

Obi-gosh this is comfy!
I put a hidden pocket on one side, which is just the right size for my wallet and character card.

These items really help to pull my kit together, and I wear them with basically every iteration of my costume, along with armour and a London-style hood. I’ll write about that when I get to blogging about my character’s outwear.

3 thoughts on “Scrap-happy!

  1. Great to see how this process played out in your mind and I didn’t know about all the hidden pockets. Bravo!

    Looking forward to seeing some more.

    • New Capel Street: Fabric Division says:

      Thanks hon! I won’t go so far as to say I’ll put up another post when everything is finished, because completed kit is a contradiction in terms as far as I’m concerned. But if I can talk someone else into taking a couple of outfit photos I’ll do a post to tie it all together!

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

