The year of…chickening out?

Leave a comment

March 19, 2014 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

It’s mid-March, and I’ve made very little for myself this year so far. My resolution for this year to be the year of Shit That Fits has so far resulted in getting rid of several bags of clothing, and a lot of humming and hawing in shops. I’ve basically got one pair of jeans that actually fits. But all I’ve made for myself that fits? Two pieces of LRP kit (more on those another time).

I have a laundry list of things I want to make, and things I want to acquire. Some of the things even correspond to Fabric Mountain. But yet, they remain unmade, and I’m still wearing clothes that are too big, too old, too scruffy. I’ve been casually playing with the Wardrobe Architect project, and really enjoying the mental exercise, and have come to some conclusions.

While comfort is certainly a massive part of my liking for loose clothing, at the end of the day my hesitation is about fear. All about fear. Fear of trying on new clothing and having it not fit, then leaving a shop feeling bad. Fear of making new clothing, having it not fit, and feeling incompetent. Or, fear of making new clothing, having it fit just fine, but feeling inferior or like it has to ‘pass’.

This last one, I know rationally, is pure, straight-up bullshit. Why? Because I’m never more confident than when I’m wearing things I’ve made. Never stand up straighter than when I know that at least one tiny detail of my crazy life is under control – even something as small as a pair of handwarmers.

The fear extends to fear of being noticed – I’ve never been comfortable with attention, just in case it turns negative – but that was a long time ago and I’m surely old enough to know better.

I don’t really have a conclusion here, other than I know I want to make more things for myself, but it won’t be this month.

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

