Let’s start with kit that fits!

Leave a comment

February 23, 2014 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

When my last LRP character died, I decided to use a new one as an excuse to make nicely fitted costumes (aka kit) for myself, as well as for other people. I did quite well last year, making a bodice that was comfortable and looked nice with everything, a ‘murder robe’, as loose, coat-like hooded robes are called in LT, and a cloak which I’ve used more around the campfire after roleplay has timed out for the night than for actual in-character use. It makes a great blanket, too. 

 

BUT. 

 

I lost 2 stone, (nearly 30 pounds) last year and most of that shit doesn’t fit any more. I’m not complaining. I think I look pretty damn good these days. Aaaanyway, back on topic. I had decided to roll up a fashion conscious character as an excuse to make myself some nice stuff semi-regularly, which means I have a totally legit reason to make new outfits this year! 

So, take one bag of upholstery fabric and a dead fashiony-corset top, Simplicity 3809, and Broomhilda’s assistance, and you get:

 

Image

 

The fit’s not perfect, but it’s better than anything I’ve made before. I think I sewed the front peplums on the wrong way around, but I like the way they look, so it’s not changing. They’re just sticky-outy enough that secret pockets stitched into them wouldn’t be noticeable. 

 

I forgot to shorten the bodice straps before assembling, and so they’re a good four inches too long to work as designed in the pattern, aka eyelets and lacing. Anyway, I can’t insert eyelets for shit. So I put a buttonhole in each front strap, a button on the back, and then tacked the end of the front strap down once the buttons were closed. I think it looks pretty cute, in a just-off-the-boat sort of way.

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

