Booty booty booty booty! Shorts! Shorts! Shorts!

Leave a comment

October 5, 2013 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

I would like to introduce you to the happy little tune I’ve been humming/muttering to myself most of the evening. After the disastrous-for-my-belly-curves attempt at making Juniper by Colette recently – http://www.colettepatterns.com/shop/juniper , I was determined to nail trousers for me. A friend put me on to the rather fabulous Thurlow Trousers pattern, made by Sewaholic Patterns, and of course I went to buy it. http://www.sewaholicpatterns.com/product/1203-thurlow-trousers 

 

At this point, I would like to give Sewaholic some major, major props for their fabulous customer service. The pattern was sold out when I tried to buy online, and so when I emailed to ask when it would be back in, we ended up having a great little conversation about the key features of the pattern – being designed for curvy hips and thighs in particular. Tasia was so friendly and helpful, that I was in a near frenzy of excitement by the time the pattern arrived. Where sewing is concerned, the human, tactile element is one of the things that keeps me going back for more. I occasionally find myself looking down at my hands as I sew and move the material around the machine, and seeing my mother’s hands, as I seemed to learn how to hold fabric from her without ever being taught. One of my most reassuring memories is of being a small child and watching Mammy sewing. The sound was exciting and soothing, and the process looked like magic. It’s just a shame that I really wasn’t into those sweet little dresses she made us for Christmas and Easter. I kinda feel guilty about that. She still has some of the white-on-black floral needle-cord, actually. I should nick it from her next time I’m home, it’d make a cute miniskirt.

 

Back on topic, Niamh. Thurlow. I splashed out on a big cutting mat last week, that covers most of my sewing table, and it’s making a huge difference already in my cutting. It being light in colour makes laying out my pieces, tracing patterns, and just putting all my pieces of cut fabric in tidy piles and grinning at them in satisfaction. See?

 

Image

 

I’m really excited about the shorts. I wore out the crotch on my go-to pair of awesome purple trousers last year, and haven’t found any I like since. Then I found this stuff in the bargain bin of WM Trimmings, and had to buy it in case I found a project for it. Purple cuffed shorts? Oh yeah. They’d look awesome with a pair of flats, oxfords or stompy boots. Stompy boots are the most likely of these things.

 

The pattern calls for a lightweight cotton, such as batiste. Now, I’m not 100% sure what batiste is, but I did have a lightweight cotton, in a pattern I’ve decided was inspired by Granny Aprons Of The Mid 20th Century. 

Image

 

I made a skirt of that before, but it’s far too flimsy to use as an outer for shorts, so it’ll do for a funky lining.

The pattern is pretty easy to follow so far – pockets assembled, everything interfaced, and everything in tidy piles ready to pick up tomorrow. I’m not 100% sure I didn’t cut the left front out on the wrong side, but the fabric looks pretty much identical both sides anyway, and if anyone is getting close enough to me to tell the difference, I’d rather hope they’d be more interested in seeing what the shorts look like on the floor than whether one panel was cut backwards. 

 

More another time!

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

