When knitting, apparently I’m a time traveller. Or just chronologically discombobulated.

Leave a comment

September 21, 2013 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

I have been working on a shawl since March. Very much on and off, what with all the LARP sewing and suddenly finding myself in a full time job. It’s http://carinaspencer.com/shop/catkin/ and has been really enjoyable to knit, if you look at it overall. Have a picture:

 

Image

 

See that whitish section with chevrons? That was one of the most frustrating things ever to knit until I was about a quarter of the way through. I kept finding myself a stitch off, breaking up the lines, and having to rip back a row or two at a time. But eventually, enough drunk knitting got the pattern into my noggin, and I was away on a hack. Note: friends don’t let friends knit drunk. I credit knitting with my lack of hangovers for most of this year – making one drink last half the night means more knitting can be done. 

 

The lozengey section down the bottom was fun. Even with the ever increasing rows, and the worry that I’d run out of white yarn, this bit flew, due in no small part to the dorky satisfaction of scribbling out each row on my printed chart as I finished it. Naturally, I checked this section over obsessively to make sure it was right, as the slipped stitches that give the section definition would no doubt make frogging or tinking a pain in the arse.

 

Image

 

The buttons are another clever feature. It’s billed as a way of making the shawl more versatile, and I can see why. Other people’s project photos on Ravelry show it wrapped in any number of ways, some using the buttons to great effect. Me? I don’t know if I’ll be bothered – but I love these buttons. I got them at The Cloth Shop in Dublin, a place where I should not go without supervision or a very specific project in mind. They’re gunmetal blue domed buttons with a small shank. I keep flicking them with a fingernail to make them go ‘ting’. 

“That’s all very well, Niamh, but get to the time travel bit!”

 

Right. So, I say I’ve been working on this since March, and I say this because I distinctly remember working on it at a friend’s wedding in March. I went to update my Ravelry project page, and found the cast-on date was actually January. That’s right. Eight months ago. I never set up a project before it’s started, so the possibility is quite high that I cast on in early January, and didn’t get around to the Rav page until a week or two later. With that in mind, and given just how stinkin’ awesome the finished shawl is, I cannot recommend this pattern highly enough. It’s fun in parts, boring as fuck in others, utterly bemusing every so often, and in terms of how long it took to complete and how well the pattern is laid out, really good value for money. The charts are understandable, the terminology accessible, and there are videos online for if you get stuck. Or maybe that’s another pattern I’m confusing it with. Either way, 10/10, would recommend, not making another one though! I think 8 months of working on it is enough!

 

Image

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

