Troughs and valleys

Leave a comment

April 9, 2013 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

I’m still working on that Mysterious Sewing Project. Despite a few little jags and snags, and gratuitous amounts of swearing today when cheap thread caused a snaggy wreck of a buttonhole, it’s going very well indeed. I’m excited when I look at it, and think it’ll really be something to be proud of when it’s done. It’s about at the half-way mark, but just at a stage where it can be put aside to do my LRP jacket without stress.

 

I just wish I could say the same about my knitting. It’s reasonable to assume that every maker goes through phases where one technique or craft is really clicking and another isn’t. Right now, while pressing-seams-flat and whipstitching and hemstitching is seeming like second nature, do you think I can read a knitting pattern successfully? Nope. Stitches hopping merrily off the needles, failing to read the work itself, tension all over the shop. I’m getting thoroughly sick of tinking back a quarter of a row, every half row, frantically running for a crochet hook to unfuck a stitch. And let’s not talk about the yarn splitting. Ugh. That in itself has caused enough rants to fill a book. Or…. a blog, now I come to think of it. Well, aren’t I smart? Lookit me, blogging about ranty-blogging about splitty yarn…and let’s step away from the chasm of circular logic and postmodern yarn rants right about now. And we’ll leave the creative swearing there, rather than inflict it on posterity. Which leads me to question…where was I going with all this?

 

Oh, that’s right. I can’t knit for shit right now, and it’s making me crazy, as it’s my go-to destresser most of the time. Failing at something so basic is maddening, and has driven me to cake on more than one occasion. I know it’ll pass, though, and soon I’ll be screaming at my poor beleaguered sewing machine because I forgot to tack things properly, or because sewing stretch velvet at ten o’clock at night seemed like a great idea. Using, of course, cheap snaggy thread, because that’s how I roll. Oh yeah, excavating the horrible results of cheap snaggy thread on stretch velvet or slippy, splitty brocade is my idea of a good time! 

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

