Perseverance is a good thing. Wrist fatigue is not.

Leave a comment

April 7, 2013 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

When I was younger, I had a terrible habit of starting a craft project, making great progress until about the half-way mark, and then leaving it. Something would happen, or I’d get distracted by real life making its presence felt, and a year or two later I’d pull out the project. “Hmm, I should really finish that,” I’d think, stuffing it back into its bag and putting it tidily away again. Another year or two later, I’d pull it out, and almost invariably throw it away as something I’d never finish.

 

I was seriously starting to worry that the gloves I intended to be my housemate Sarah’s Christmas present would be one of those shame projects. I didn’t have time to finish them for Christmas, so I threw one finished glove at her, yelled Christmas things and promised to get the other done when I had time. Folks, it’s now April. April. And they came off the blocking towel today. I used http://simplesavvy.wordpress.com/2012/02/18/spoons-up/ for the pattern, and Hedgehog Fibres and Debbie Bliss yarns. Here’s a terrible photo of the end result:

Image

 

My kit-making for LARP has reached a saner pace, although for how much longer that stays the case is anyone’s guess. I have one sewing WIP right now, and I’m very excited about it. Unfortunately, the person I am making it for has requested that I don’t give people details about it until it’s been seen, so I’m going to have to just say that [SPOILERS REDACTED] and I’m sure it’ll look lovely. I expect that this will leave me with just enough time to make myself a warm jacket for LARP too, and look forward to seeing if that’s the actual case.

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

