I’m not just a sewer, you know. Sewer? Sewist? Stitcher? Aw, hell, who cares?

Leave a comment

April 1, 2013 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

That title got a little bit away from me. The point I was trying to make is this: I knit, too. I started out with knitting, back in the glory days of the Celtic Tiger when I had an office job, and commuted for an hour each way to and from Dublin. I read an article about how knitting was making a big comeback, which referenced Debbie Stoller’s now seminal Stitch’n’Bitch as a good reference point. I knew how to knit, but hadn’t done so since the summer my mother threw a shopping bag full of yarn at me, declaring “You’re going to knit a jumper, dear!” I had dutifully knocked out a sleeve and half of the back before getting incredibly bored, and deciding I didn’t like the 80s-tastic pattern. So that was then, and this was a few years ago. I need better tenses. I went to Chapters, and bought the book, and then I was away on a hack. I got to knitting, and loved it. I discovered This Is Knit in Dublin, actually wandering in on their opening day, and joined Ravelry.

There now follows a long boring paragraph or two about my early explorations in knitting, the ugly stuff I made from terrible yarn, and the ill-fated attempt at knitting socks that nearly gave me RSI. Let’s just assume I wrote it all down, and you skimmed it. Yes? Good.

These days, I mostly knit for myself, or for presents. I knit slowly, and it is something I don’t like the idea of working on to sell. At the moment, I’m working on the Spoons Up gloves by Simple Savvy, and Catkin by Carina Spencer. They’re in smushy yarn, and colours that make me smile. As with my fabric stash, I have too much yarn, and want to stashdown, so they’re the last of the projects with new-bought yarn. Once those are done, it’s back to finishing projects already on the needles, before picking patterns to go with the yarn I have in stacky boxes, and working through it. Fun challenge!

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

