In which I apparently cannot count, and am recklessly optimistic.

4

November 6, 2012 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

I decided to make a hat from the Schoppel Wolle Pur, and it’ll be epic. Smocking and everything. I didn’t know that was a thing, smocking. But it’s rather nice, and I’m sure that my long history of looking derpy in hats will not come back to bite me in the ass.

See, there are hat people, and then there’s me. I love hats. Love, love, love them. I love knit hats, felt hats, fancypants cloches and fedoras and akubras, and I look utterly, completely ridiculous in almost all of them. I’ve searched for tips and advice on how to rock a hat, and so far been advised “Just pick a hat that suits you, and wear that one!” It’s not a fetish, I don’t like them that much, and why on earth did I type that in my public blog? Oh well, committed now. Insert rant about commodity fetishism here, where I probably contradict myself enough times so as to completely confuse any reader, and let’s move on. I look derpy in most kinds of hat. Yes, that’s where I was, along with “Pick a hat you look good in and wear that!”

Uh. What about the glasses-wearing, and the high forehead, and the long hair that usually lives in a ponytail or plait? (Man, better type faster if I want to actually get this post written today!) Google hasn’t really helped, and friends just kinda shrug and go “It’s more about how you wear them?” Right. 

Slouchy hats apparently look good on me, as I’ve gotten tons of compliments on the blue slouchy hat in my last post. But I want to wear other types of hats too, and dammit, this one will be different. Pics, as usual, to follow. I’m such a tease.

4 thoughts on “In which I apparently cannot count, and am recklessly optimistic.

  1. Rob says:

    I miss wearing hats. I love knitting them, and like wearing them, though it is hard to find ones I look good in. Berets work, and hats with a front brim. But here in south Texas, well, I don’t tend to want anything on my head.

  2. Bertie says:

    I never thought I would find such an everyday topic so enhlratling!

  3. Well I guess I don’t have to spend the weekend figuring this one out!

  4. Oh man. I wish I would have known you were coming to my town! I would have given you a list of must dos. You hit some great stops, but if you find yourself here again send me an email so you can hit the locals fave hidden antiques, ie-not in greune.travelbunny.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

