NaBloPoMo, day 2

Leave a comment

November 4, 2012 by New Capel Street: Fabric Division

Ooops. Skipped another day. But there were good reasons – the Knitting & Stitching Show took place in Dublin this weekend, and I spent a day there with two lovely ladies I knew from Ravelry. 

I even bought pretty things. As usual, pics to follow. 

I’d heard reports over the last few years that the show was leaning more heavily towards quilting and fabric, with papercraft and Things Marketed At Women, such as hair elasticy ornaments, cheap knockoffs of Cillit Bang and other cleaning products, and fancy squeegees also making their way in. And there they were, in all their hyperactive hard-sell glory. I gotta say, that was not impressive. The show is quite expensive to get into, and while I imagine that the pitch price is what’s driving them away, I would love to see more independent and local shops and makers selling at the show. 

 

As it was, the only impressive indie stall, Coolree Yarns, was truly impressive. Alex’s selection of yarns were as plentiful as they were beautiful, and massively underpriced for their quality. I had to resist the urge to strip off and roll around with the skein of fabulously soft yarn I brought home. Don’t know what it’s going to be yet, but it will be lovely. Probably a shawl. 

Today, I baked apple cake, and ran a Call of Cthulhu game. It went well, the cake was all-right, and now I need to come up with something to write here tomorrow and find my damn camera so I can boast about the pretty things I bought.

Leave a Reply

Hi! Don't use WordPress? No worries, I'd love to have you stick around! Feel free to follow me, just enter your email address and the magical WordPress pixies will let you know when I post new content!

Join 685 other followers

But it can't be from Dolly Clackett. She gave me an Easter egg!

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Pigeon Wishes

Learning to sew and delearning compulsive shopping habits

Finding Femme

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Serious Notions

You'd want to have a word with yourself

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Proper Tension

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Magia Posthuma

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

ooobop

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

woollywonder

Playing with wool, fabric and thread.

A Girl Called Boz

Designer * Maker * Day dreamer

Kaoru Marie

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

The Virtual Princess and the Pea

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Light by Coco

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Tangled in Fibres

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Yarn Harlot

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

Madalynne

USA Made Lingerie. Born in Philadelphia, Sewn in Brooklyn.

Cashmerette

Plus Size Sewing

Happy thoughts & forget me nots

Niamh's adventures in sewing, knitting, overthinking and expletives.

